Blogs Page

Update Notifications: When and When Not to Update

'When should I click on those little update notifications that popup? I don't want to click on them because they might be a virus!'

This is a common question people ask when it comes to updating programs such as Flash Player or Java typically after having done so before and accidentally inviting viruses into their computer, leading to a trip to their local computer specialist to have the virus infection removed. At our shop we inform our clients to never install or follow on screen instructions of a popup window after they start browsing the internet as more often than not these popup windows are laced with viruses and false warnings intended to scare the user into updating or installing the false program/update.

Our best piece of advice is when you first turn on your computer and log into Windows let the computer run for about 3-5 minutes or more before you do anything with it, this allows the computer to finish loading the programs that check for updates to programs such as Flash Player, Adobe Reader, Java, and other programs with auto-update features. If any notification pops up during this time asking to update you should take the time and update it right then and there, following the onscreen instructions to start and complete the update. If no notifications popup after 3-5 minutes then you may start using the computer.

To summarize; never click on an update or suspicious warning window after you start browsing the internet. If you happen to get a suspicious popup while browsing then close all of your browser windows (generally the red 'X' in the very top right corner) or restart your computer if you are unable to close your browser. If the popups persist your computer is more than likely infected with a virus and you should run a security scan or bring it to your preferred PC/Mac repair specialist for a virus removal.

Would you like us to personally take care of all aspects of your computers security, health, and updating? If you would, check out this cool service: Bright-Eyed Computer's exclusive Protect Me plan